Crannóg acknowledges the assistance of:

Arts Council of Ireland and Galway City Council.

Site design:

Ireland's premier fiction and poetry magazine since 2002

Fiction and poetry




Our Forward Prize nominees for 2019

Jude Cowan Montague for The Illustrator Reflects from Crannóg 50

Adam Tavel for Marié-Thérése Walter Mourns the Death of her Former Lover Pablo Picasso from Crannóg 48

Mercedes Lawry for A Dog’s Life from Crannóg 48


The Forward Prizes for Poetry are among the UK’s most coveted literary awards: their award ceremony features readings from 15 exceptional poets, and attracts a young and lively audience. It takes place this year on Sunday 20 October 2019 at Southbank Centre, London

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most coveted awards for poetry published in Britain and Ireland: they have played a key role in bringing contemporary poetry to the attention of the wider public for over a quarter of a century. They were set up in 1991 by philanthropist William Sieghart to celebrate excellence in poetry and increase its audience, and are awarded to published poets for work in print in the last year. The three prizes – £10,000 for Best Collection, £5,000 for Best First Collection and £1,000 for Best Single Poem – are unique in honouring both the work of established poets and the debuts of brilliant unknowns. Past Forward Prizes winners include Claudia Rankine, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Alice Oswald, Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy and Kathleen Jamie.

Forward/emagazine Student Critics Competition 2019

A poem is a meeting place for its readers and its writer – and the poems shortlisted for Forward Prizes are particularly good places for sparking off creative thoughts and conversations. In partnership with the English & Media Centre, we invited students and their teachers to respond to a poem from this year’s shortlist, either with a short critical commentary or a creative response.

Details of the 2019 Competition will be announced on 23rd April.