Our Forward Prize nominees for 2017

Peter Branson for Coor Li from Crannóg 42

Rosamund Taylor for Detour (Leaving Edinburgh) from Crannóg 43

Kevin Graham for On Dollymount from Crannóg 43


The Forward Prizes will be awarded at a ceremony at London’s Southbank Centre on 21 September 2017.

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most coveted awards for poetry published in Britain and Ireland: they have played a key role in bringing contemporary poetry to the attention of the wider public for over a quarter of a century. They were set up in 1992 by philanthropist William Sieghart to celebrate excellence in poetry and increase its audience, and are awarded to published poets for work in print in the last year. The three prizes – £10,000 for Best Collection, £5,000 for Best First Collection and £1,000 for Best Single Poem – are unique in honouring both the work of established poets and the debuts of brilliant unknowns. Past Forward Prizes winners include Claudia Rankine, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Alice Oswald, Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy and Kathleen Jamie.

In 2016 Vahni Capildeo received the Forward Prize for Best Collection, Tiphanie Yanique the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection and Sasha Dugdale received the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem.


Crannóg acknowledges the assistance of:

Arts Council of Ireland and Galway City Council.

Site design: www.wordsonthestreet.com

Ireland's premier fiction and poetry magazine since 2002


Fiction and poetry