Crannóg acknowledges the assistance of:

Arts Council of Ireland and Galway City Council.

Site design:

Ireland's premier fiction and poetry magazine since 2002

Fiction and poetry




Our Forward Prize nominees for 2018

Ciarán O’Rourke for Combing the Hair (‘La Coiffure’) from Crannóg 47

Audrey Molloy for Gratitude Lines from Crannóg 46

Deborah Moffatt for A Distant Island from Crannóg 45


The Forward Prizes will be awarded at London's Southbank Centre on 18 September 2018.

The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most coveted awards for poetry published in Britain and Ireland: they have played a key role in bringing contemporary poetry to the attention of the wider public for over a quarter of a century. They were set up in 1991 by philanthropist William Sieghart to celebrate excellence in poetry and increase its audience, and are awarded to published poets for work in print in the last year. The three prizes – £10,000 for Best Collection, £5,000 for Best First Collection and £1,000 for Best Single Poem – are unique in honouring both the work of established poets and the debuts of brilliant unknowns. Past Forward Prizes winners include Claudia Rankine, Thom Gunn, Seamus Heaney, Alice Oswald, Ted Hughes, Carol Ann Duffy and Kathleen Jamie.

Poems from the shortlists, plus works commended by the judges, will be published as the 27th Forward Book of Poetry this autumn. Shortlisted poets will be invited to read at a prize ceremony on 18 September 2018 at the Southbank Centre, London.