Crannóg acknowledges the assistance of:

Arts Council of Ireland and Galway City Council.

Site design:

Ireland's premier fiction and poetry magazine since 2002

Fiction and poetry




Our Forward Prize nominees for 2020

Deborah Moffatt for The Serrated Shadow from Crannóg 51

Deirdre Hines for One Female is a Pen from Crannóg 51

Beate Sigridaughter for Cassandra from Crannóg 51


The Forward Prizes for Poetry are the most widely coveted awards for new poetry published in the UK and Ireland. The annual ceremony brings poetry’s biggest names to London’s Southbank to perform alongside rising talent before diverse and enthusiastic audiences. Notable alumni include Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes and Claudia Rankine, while Simon Armitage, Jackie Kay, Carol Ann Duffy and Daljit Nagra are among those boosted by early career Forward recognition. The prizes, run by the Forward Arts

Foundation since 1992, are sponsored by Bookmark Content. There are three categories:

the Forward Prize for Best Collection, the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection and the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem. Poems from the shortlisted and highly commended books are published in the annual Forward Book of Poetry creating an invaluable overview for poetry lovers and a perfect introduction for new poetry readers.

Judges for 2020 Forward Prizes for Poetry announced